How to achieve peptide binding at the metal center in the internal pocket of a metalloprotein?

Dear all,

I am studying the enzyme EryP (PDB: 7v9n), which has a zinc metal center inside it. The zinc metal can catalyze peptide hydrolysis. Since there is no crystal structure of a zinc metalloprotein in complex with a peptide, I want to achieve docking of the zinc metalloprotein with the peptide.

I have turned off “Remove buried active/passive residues from selection”, set the “Minimum percentage of relative solvent accessibility (RSA) to consider a residue as accessible” to 0, and added constraints between the zinc ion and the active site in the peptide:
assign (resid 861 and segid A)
(resid 11 and segid B and name O) 0.0 0.0 6.0

However, the peptide still binds to the surface of the protein instead of binding to the zinc ion in the internal pocket.

Could you please tell me if it is possible to use HADDOCK to achieve peptide binding at the metal center in the internal pocket of a metalloprotein?

Sincerely
Tian-Yu

Hi Tian-Yu,

Thanks for your interest in using HADDOCK for your research.

What you are trying to achieve is not trivial, and requires some pre-processing of the PDB structure as well as turning on some parameters to be successful:

• Ensure you removed water molecules from the input PDB structure ( I see that a lot of them are in the binding site )
  • As the binding site is not on the surface of the protein, it was a very good idea to turn off the Remove buried active/passive residues from selection parameter and set the Minimum percentage of relative solvent accessibility (RSA) to consider a residue as accessible to 0 !
  • But, because you need to drag the peptide inside the pocket, you would also have to reduce the VdW components during rigid body docking (it0). For this, please modify the parameter Energy and interaction parameters -> Scaling of intermolecular interactions for rigid body EM to 0.001.