Protein-Protein Interaction

Hello everyone,

Hope you are in good health.

I am a biologist and would like to research on the interaction between two proteins using in silico approaches.

My project involves attachment of a ligand to protein and interaction this complex to another protein. In fact, this project has two phases.

First, I need to calculate the binding energy between Protein-Protein interaction (Phase I), next, make a complex of Protein-Ligand (using Auto Dock 4.2) and study on the attachment of this complex to another protein (Phase II).

Finally, I should compare the Phase I and II.

As far as I know, we cannot do a docking simulation of Protein-Ligand / Protein using most docking website servers.

Could you please tell me how to perform these docking? Or if there is any docking web server or software to perform this docking simulation? I mean (Ligand-Protein)/Protein interaction.

Thank you in advance,

Ali

Hi!

Haddock is able to do multi-body docking, please check the tutorials on our website: http://www.bonvinlab.org/education/HADDOCK24/

Good luck with your project. :slight_smile:

Simply give your protein-Ligand complex as one molecule to haddock and the second protein as the second molecule.

Important:

• the ligand must have a unique residue number not overlapping with the protein and must be defined as HETATM in the pdb file.

Dear Prof. Bonvin,

I would like to thank you so much for such a detailed answer.

According the answer you had provided, I prepared a pdb file of protein and ligand, and defined ligand as HETATM atom with a unique residue number (576). Unfortunately, this error comes up after loading the pdb of complex as molecule 1.

"Error in PDB file. Your PDB contains multiple residues with number 576 in chain"

I have been trying hard to fix this problem for two days.

Could you please tell me what I should do?

Sincerely,

Ali